bouchercon 2014
bouchercon 2014 bouchercon 2014 bouchercon 2014
bouchercon 2014 registration hotel & travel guests attendees schedule programming long beach tours volunteers awards charities faqs book-room contact
       FaceBook Twitter Blogger

bouchercon 2014


We are delighted to announce the Anthony Award nominees for 2013 publications, as selected by vote of the Bouchercon membership:

Best Novel

Robert Crais, Suspect (Putnam)
Sara J. Henry, A Cold and Lonely Place (Crown Publishers)
William Kent Krueger, Ordinary Grace (Atria Books)
Hank Phillippi Ryan, The Wrong Girl (Forge Books)
Julia Spencer-Fleming, Through the Evil Days (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel

Matt Coyle, Yesterday's Echo (Oceanview Publishing)
Roger Hobbs, Ghostman (Alfred A. Knopf)
Becky Masterman, Rage Against the Dying (Minotaur Books)
Kimberly McCreight, Reconstructing Amelia (HarperCollins)
Todd Robinson, The Hard Bounce (Tyrus Books)

Best Paperback Original Novel

Chris F. Holm, The Big Reap (Angry Robot)
Darrell James, Purgatory Key (Midnight Ink)
Stephen King, Joyland (Hard Case Crime)
Alex Marwood, The Wicked Girls (Penguin Books)
Catriona McPherson, As She Left It (Midnight Ink)

Best Short Story

Craig Faustus Buck, "Dead End" (Untreed Reads)
John Connolly, "The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository" aka "The Museum of Literary Souls" (Bibliomysteries, The Mysterious Bookshop)
Denise Dietz, "Annie and the Grateful Dead" (The Sound and the Furry: Stories To Benefit the International Fund for Animal Welfare, Amazon Digital Services)
Travis Richardson, "Incident on the 405" (Criminal Element's Malfeasance Occasional: Girl Trouble, Macmillan)
Art Taylor, "The Care and Feeding of Houseplants" (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Critical or Non-Fiction Work

Maria Konnikova, Mastermind: How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes (Viking Adult)
Cate Lineberry, The Secret Rescue: An Untold Story of American Nurses and Medics Behind Nazi Lines (Little, Brown and Company)
Josh Stallings, All the Wild Children (Snubnose Press)
Daniel Stashower, The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot To Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War (Minotaur Books)
Sarah Weinman (ed.), Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives: Stories from the Trailblazers of Domestic Suspense (Penguin Books)

Best Children's or Young Adult Novel

Joelle Charbonneau, The Testing (Houghton Mifflin)
Margaux Froley, Escape Theory (Soho Teen)
Chris Grabenstein, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library (Random House Children's Books)
Elizabeth Kiem, Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy (Soho Teen)
Penny Warner, The Code Busters Club: Mystery of the Pirate's Treasure (Egmont USA)

Best Television Episode Teleplay First Aired in 2013

The Blacklist, Pilot, by Jon Bokenkamp (Davis Entertainment, NBC, Sept. 2013)
Breaking Bad, "Felina," by Vince Gilligan (AMC, Sept. 2013)
The Fall, "Dark Descent," by Allan Cubitt (Netflix Original, May 2013)
The Following, Pilot, by Kevin Williamson (Fox Network, Warner Bros. Television, Jan. 2013)
Justified, "Hole in the Wall," by Graham Yost (Fox Network, Warner Bros. Television, Jan. 2013)

Best Audio Book

Crescendo by Deborah J Ledford, read by Christina Cox (IOF Productions Ltd.)
The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith, read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio)
Death and the Lit Chick by G.M. Malliet, read by Davina Porter (Dreamscape Media)
Hour of the Rat by Lisa Brackmann, read by Tracy Sallows (Audible Studios)
Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell, read by Mauro Hantman (AudioGO)

What are the Anthony Awards?

The Anthony Awards will be presented at Bouchercon 2014 in eight categories:

  • Best Novel
  • Best First Novel
  • Best Paperback Original
  • Best Short Story
  • Best Critical Nonfiction Work
  • Best Young Adult Novel
  • Best TV Episode/Teleplay
  • Best Audio Book

Note: The first five awards are presented at every Bouchercon; the last three are presented at the discretion of the Local Organizing Committee.

How are they selected?

Nominations for Anthony Awards are solicited from registered attendees at the next and previous Bouchercons. Finalists are voted on at the convention itself by all attendees registered for the full event.

Why "Anthony"?

Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White, 1911-1968) was a writer, editor, and critic of science fiction and mystery who came to be regarded as the cornerstone of modern mystery analysis. He championed many crime-writing greats long before the mainstream literary establishment recognized their talents, and remained an indefatigable fan and insightful reviewer of every category of crime fiction. He helped found Mystery Writers of America in 1946 and served as its president in 1951. Both the Anthony Awards and the Anthony Boucher Memorial World Mystery Convention ("Bouchercon") are named in his honor.